Church History - Catholicism - General Resources - LibGuides at Mount St. Mary's Seminary & School of Theology

Call Numbers - Church History

270-279
General History of Christianity
270.1
Early apostolic Church to 325
270.2
Period of the early Councils 325-787
270.3
Medieval Church 787-1054
270.4
1054-1200
270.5
Late Middle Ages through Renaissance 1200-1517
270.6
Reformation 1517-1648
270.7
Peace of Westphalia to French Revolution 1648-1789
270.8
Modern period 1789-
282.09
Catholic Church history
900s
General history
282.092
Biographies

Church History Resources

The Holy See
Visit the Vatican home page to find information on all aspects of the central government of the Church. The site provides Vatican contact information, access to the Vatican Library collection, news and current events in the church, information on liturgical celebrations, the Roman Curia, and more.
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
This site details the USCCB's efforts to address ethical and social issues in America through collaboration with local bishops and international Catholic organizations. The site includes resources on a large spectrum of specific issues.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
This website offers full-text writings of the early church in translation.
Early Christian Writings
This website offers the full text of early Christian writings from the first, second, and third centuries. The writings are listed in chronological order (as determined by the author of the website) and include the original language when possible.
Internet Christian Library: Guide to Early Church Documents
This website links to Internet-accessible files relating to the early church, including canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history.
Internet Sacred Texts Archive - Christianity
This website is a freely accessible archive of sacred texts from many creeds. Visit this page for a listing of Christian texts, ranging from early to modern works.
MedievalChurch.org
This searchable website contains resources on the church during the Middle Ages.
New Advent Catholic Supersite
New Advent Catholic Supersite: Fathers of the Church
This website offers articles on the church fathers and their work and writings.
Atla - Websites on Religion
Carefully selected lists of resources on all aspects of religion, including Bible resources.
Vatican Archives - Documents of the Vatican II Council
Catholic Answers: Faith Tracts
Catholic Answers' new website is reorganized and offers the same information available from Fathers Know Best.
Hans Urs von Balthasar: An Internet Archive
Use this website to read the many writings of and about Hans Urs von Balthasar.
Cardinal Ratzinger Online
Use this website to read the writings of Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger, or Pope Benedict XVI.
Catholics United for the Faith
Use the "Faith Facts" to answer questions about the faith.
Virtual Religion Index
Long-standing site for religion resources.
Catholic Research Resources Portal
The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides access to and discovery of rare, unique and uncommon Catholic scholarly resources via robust search and display tools. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources. It is searchable on every page of our website.
Polonsky Foundation Digitization Foundation
Joint effort of the Vatican Library and the University of Oxford. This digitization project will focus on three main groups of texts: Hebrew manuscripts, Greek manuscripts, and incunabula, or 15th-century printed books.
The Catholic Telgraph
Early issues of The Catholic Telegraph are now available online via the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County. The images on the digital library allow full-text searching.
ChurchFathers.org
Despite the fact that their writings are all available for free online, many people have not taken the time to educate themselves on what the Church Fathers have taught. This website is meant to serve as a tool to help people do just that. The quotes on this site were adopted from Jimmy Akin's book The Fathers Know Best.
CRRA - Vatican II
This guide connects users to resources on Vatican II in the Catholic Portal and at CRRA institutions as well as to news resources in the Catholic News Archive. It also acts as a bibliography to important primary source and reference materials on the Second Vatican Council.
CRRA - The Catholic Intellectual Tradition
This guide provides links to the works of some of Catholicism's greatest minds, as well as biographical information and related scholarship.

Historical Dictionary of Catholicism by William J. Collinge
Call Number: 282.03 C711h
ISBN: 0810857553
Publication Date: 2012-02-23
Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: R 282.03 C363 1913
Publication Date: 1913-1914
Also available online - please see Web Info page.
The A to Z of Catholicism by William J. Collinge
Call Number: 282.03 C711A
ISBN: 0810840715
Publication Date: 2001-09-07
The New Westminster Dictionary of Church History by Robert Benedetto (Editor)
Call Number: R 270.03 B462
ISBN: 0664224164
Publication Date: 2008-10-07

Browse or search these online reference works.

If you are a guest patron, you must be on campus to access e-reference.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Ed. This link opens in a new window
This English-language reference source for philosophy has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. An expansion of the 1967 edition, updates include additions to bibliographies for unrevised articles, revisions made by original authors, addendums to articles presenting contrasting or current viewpoints, 300 completely revised articles, and 450 new entries on previously uncovered topics.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.
New Catholic Encyclopedia Online This link opens in a new window
This 2nd edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia is fully searchable in full-text.

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
This eReference book covers subjects including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
This title provides information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.

Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association (Atla), this database provides citations and many full-text articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Updated monthly, it contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing of some journals as far back as the 19th century. This database includes the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) back to 1981; older issues of CPLI are available in print in the library. An EBSCO database.
Atla Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association, this is a completely full-text collection of over 320 major religion, theology, and philosophy journals. Updated monthly, it contains over 615,000 records from 1881 to the present. An EBSCO database.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion and Philosophy Collection provides a collection of articles from over 290 full-text journals covering philosophy, biblical studies, and a broad range of religions. An EBSCO database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. An EBSCO database.
EBSCO Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search the Maly Library Catalog, the OhioLINK Catalog, our eBook collection, and our EBSCO research databases with one search box.

These journals are available in the Maly Library Print periodical collection. Click the link to view additional formats.

Catholicism - General Resources: Church History

Call Numbers - Church History

Church History Resources