Saints - Catholicism - General Resources - LibGuides at Mount St. Mary's Seminary & School of Theology

Call Numbers - Saints

270.092
History of Christianity - Biography
282.092
History of Catholicism - Biography

Saints Resources

Patron Saints
This site offers biographies on the patron saints of many topics. Profiles contain portraits, areas of patronage, prayers, recommended links, and readings.
Catholic Online Saints and Angels
This searchable site includes a saint index, saint FAQ, fun facts about saints, a saint calendar, and more.
Roman Catholic Saints by Name
This website features short biographies of saints, including a saint of the day. Saints can be searched for by name, date, etc.
The Mary Page
Homepage for the University of Dayton's Marion Library and International Marion Research Institute.
The Paul Page
"This site focuses on the Pauline research of Protestant biblical scholars that seeks common ground with Catholics by revising the simplistic view of Saint Paul fostered by the controversies of the Protestant Reformation." (New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2009)
Finding Augustine
'Finding Augustine' is a rich and readily accessible bibliographical collection concerning Augustine of Hippo and his legacy. This is the product of a unique international collaboration between institutions of higher learning in Europe and America.
Augustine of Hippo
Maintained by Georgetown's J.J. O'Donnell, this site has many of Augustine's writings as well as supplementary research material.
St. Thomas Aquinas
Maintained by the Dominican House of Studies, this page lists links to Aquinas' works in English and Latin.

To find additional materials, execute a broad subject search in our catalog for "Christian saints -- biography" or search for individual saints (e.g. "Francis of Assisi, Saint" or "Jerome, Saint" etc.)

Butler's Lives of the Saints by Paul Burns (Editor)
Call Number: 282.0922 B985 1995 v.1-12
ISBN: 0814623778
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Dictionary of Patron Saints' Names by Thomas W. Sheehan
Call Number: 929.4403 S541
ISBN: 0879735392
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Our Sunday Visitor's Encyclopedia of Saints by Margaret Matthew; Stephen Bunson; Matthew Bunson
Call Number: 282.0922 B942
ISBN: 0879735880
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
The Book of Saints by Basil Watkins (Editor); St. Augustine's Abbey Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 282.0922 W335
ISBN: 0826413781
Publication Date: 2002-05-01
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor); American Council of Learned Societies Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 940.1 S913 v.1-13
ISBN: 0684190737
Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Medieval Hagiography by Thomas Head
Call Number: 270.30922 H432
ISBN: 0815321236
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
This item is located in the circulating stacks.

Browse or search these online reference works.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.
New Catholic Encyclopedia Online This link opens in a new window
This 2nd edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia is fully searchable in full-text.

The Oxford Dictionary of Saints
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
This eReference book covers subjects including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
This title provides information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.

The Lives of the Saints through 100 Masterpieces by Jacques Duquesne; Francois Lebrette; M. Cristina Borges (Translator)
Call Number: 270.0922 D946
ISBN: 0820704369
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Saints in Art by Clara Eskine Clement
Call Number: 704.94863 C626
ISBN: 1590330374
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
One Hundred Saints by Bulfinch Press Staff; Susan Marsh (Illustrator)
Call Number: 282.0922 B985
ISBN: 0821220098
Publication Date: 1994-03-25
Blessed and Beautiful by Robert Kiely
Call Number: 745.6709409 R824
ISBN: 9780300162776
Publication Date: 2010-10-26

Analecta Bollandiana
Hagiography - Studies of the Saints

Catholicism - General Resources: Saints

Call Numbers - Saints

Saints Resources