Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books - Catholic Hierarchy
These broad subject headings are recommended for starting your search in the catalog for books related to Catholic Organizations.
Catholic Hierarchy Resources
The Holy See
Visit the Vatican home page to find information on all aspects of the central government of the Church. The site provides Vatican contact information, access to the Vatican Library collection, news and current events in the church, information on liturgical celebrations, the Roman Curia, and more.
Synod of Bishops
This page within the Vatican web site includes the documentation of the assemblies of the Synod of Bishops since 1971.
Papal Encyclicals Online
Offers access to both Papal and other official documents of the Catholic Church.
The Hierarchy of the Catholic Church
Current and historical information about its bishops and dioceses. (As of Jan 2019, this site may not be up-to-date)
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
This site details the USCCB's efforts to address ethical and social issues in America through collaboration with local bishops and international Catholic organizations. The site includes resources on a large spectrum of specific issues.
The Archdiocese of Cincinnati
This site offers information on ministries, education, giving, and becoming a Catholic in Cincinnati. The site also provides an event calendar and contact information for the archdiocese.
Code of Canon Law
From the IntraText Digital Library project.
Catechism of the Catholic Church - USCCB
A fully searchable online version of the catechism.
Browse or search these online reference works.
If you are a guest patron, you must be on campus to access e-reference.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
This eReference book covers subjects including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics.