Religious Orders - Catholicism - General Resources - LibGuides at Mount St. Mary's Seminary & School of Theology

Finding Books - Religious Orders

These subject headings are recommended for searching the catalog for items concerning religious orders.

CatholicHierarchy.org
Provides statistic information on Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life.
Order of Saint Benedict
This site includes general information on the Order of Saint Benedict, along with news from the order, and information about oblates and affiliated U.S. and international institutions.
Christ in the Desert
This site provides information on the Christ in the Desert monastery, a Benedictine abbey.
Order of Preachers
This site provides information on the Order of Preachers, or Dominicans.
The Jesuits
This site provides information on Jesuits in the United States.
The Portal to Jesuit Studies: A Collaborative Resource for Research and Scholarship
This resource was developed by a project team at Boston College Libraries in collaboration with the Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies (IAJS).
A Guide to Religious Ministries for Catholic Men and Women
A directory of Catholic religious orders.
CRRA - Religious Orders for Men
Resources curated by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA).
CRRA - Religious Orders for Women
Resources curated by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA).

Dictionary of Religious Orders by Peter Day (Editor)
Call Number: 271.003 D274
ISBN: 0860123952
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
This reference volume details nearly 1,500 religious orders, including Catholic, Anglican, and Protestant orders. It includes information concerning the origination, development, and current status of the orders.
This item is available in the circulating stacks of the library. A older edition is available in the reference collection.
Catholic religious orders : listing conventional and full names in English, foreign language, and Latin, also abbreviations, date and country of origin and founders by Oliver L. Kapsner
Call Number: R 266.805 K17 1957
Publication Date: 1957
This reference volume details the origination of Roman Catholic religious orders.
Dictionary of Religious Orders by Peter Day (Editor)
Call Number: 271.003 D274
ISBN: 0860123146
Publication Date: 2001-08-01

Browse or search these online reference works.

If you are a guest patron, you must be on campus to access e-reference.

Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.
New Catholic Encyclopedia Online This link opens in a new window
This 2nd edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia is fully searchable in full-text.

The Oxford Dictionary of Saints
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
This eReference book covers subjects including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics.