LibGuides: Bible Resources: Finding Articles

Journal Finder

Use the Journal Finder to find whether a journal is owned by Maly Library, and in which formats it is available, including:

Print journals housed in the basement level of the library
Electronic full-text journals available through the library's research databases
Electronic full-text journals available through online subscriptions

If Maly Library does not own the journal you seek, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Google Theology

Use this custom Google search to locate articles concerning religious studies published in over 350 open access journals.

The following databases are recommended for locating articles on Scripture and Scripture study. Note that ATLA databases have a special search feature for Scripture. The library staff is happy to assist you in accessing and using our databases.

For articles not available in full text online, be sure to check Journal Finder to see if we have the journal in print. For those off campus, we will gladly provide you a scanned copy of the original. If you need an article that is not available in full-text through the databases or in print in our collection, please request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association (Atla), this database provides citations and many full-text articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Updated monthly, it contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing of some journals as far back as the 19th century. This database includes the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) back to 1981; older issues of CPLI are available in print in the library. An EBSCO database.
Atla Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association, this is a completely full-text collection of over 320 major religion, theology, and philosophy journals. Updated monthly, it contains over 615,000 records from 1881 to the present. An EBSCO database.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion and Philosophy Collection provides a collection of articles from over 290 full-text journals covering philosophy, biblical studies, and a broad range of religions. An EBSCO database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. An EBSCO database.
EBSCO Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search the Maly Library Catalog, the OhioLINK Catalog, our eBook collection, and our EBSCO research databases with one search box.

Bible Review (BR)
Expository Times
Combines an interest in all pastoral matters, practical and theoretical, in the latest international biblical and theological scholarship.
Journal for the Study of the New Testament
Critical scholarship in New Testament studies.
Journal for the Study of the Old Testament
Critical scholarship in Old Testament studies.
Novum Testamentum
Covers textual and literary criticism, critical interpretation, theology and the historical and literary background of the New Testament.
Revue Biblique
Semeia
Vetus Testamentum
Covers all aspects of Old Testament study and includes articles on history, literature, religion and theology, text, versions, language, and the bearing on the Old Testament of archaeology and the study of the Ancient Near East.
Biblica
Published since 1920 by the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, Biblica is a research journal and appears four times a year.
It is dedicated to biblical studies on the Old and New Testament, and intertestamentary literature, and covers fields of research, such as exegesis, philology, and history.
Catholic Biblical Quarterly
Presents feature articles, book reviews and short notices, collected essays and lists of books received on all aspects of Catholic biblical history; published for members of the Catholic Biblical Association.
Interpretation: A Journal of Bible and Theology
A religious journal of articles by outstanding theological scholars aimed at pastors, professors, seminary students and others published by the Union Theological Seminary in Virginia.
Journal of Biblical Literature
Articles, critical notes, reviews and lists of recently published books on all aspects of Biblical literature published for members of the Society of Biblical Literature.

Helpsheets for Searching Databases

General Tips for Searching Databases

Authentication Help

If you encounter problems accessing databases and e-resources, or have questions about the authentication process, the Remote Authentication Help Page has a series of FAQs that may help.