Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Development and Spiritual Experience: Citing Books, E-Books, and Chapters

APA Citation Guide

The Athenaeum uses the APA Style format for all research papers in the pastoral counseling program.

APA Online Resources

Books

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle of book. edition. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Ermann, M. D., Williams, M. B., & Shauf, M. S. (Eds.). (1997). Computers, ethics, and society. New York: Oxford UP.

eBook from Database

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle of book. edition. Retrieved from Name of database.

Example:

Roush, C. (1999). Inside Home Depot: How one company revolutionized an industry through the relentless pursuit of growth. Retrieved from ebrary database

 

eBook from Website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle of book. edition. Retrieved from complete URL

Example:

Speed, H. (2004). The practice and science of drawing. Retrieved from http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/14264

 

eBook with DOI Only

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle of book. edition. doi number

Example:

Rodriguez-Garcia, R., & White, E. M. (2005). Self-assessment in managing for results: Conducting self-assessment for development practitioners. doi: 10.1596/9780-82136148-1

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Date of Publication). Title of chapter or article. In Editor #1 First Initial. Middle Initial. Last Name, & Editor #2 First Initial. Middle Initial. Last Name (Eds.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. Pages). Place of Publication: Publisher.

Examples:

Meiland, J. (2003). The difference between high school and college. In R. K. Durst (Ed.), You are here: Readings on higher education for college writers (pp. 104-114). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.

Grealy, L. (2002). Fear itself. In T. Roberts, M. Moser, D. LePan, C. Lawson, J. Gaunce, & J. Britton (Eds.), The Broadview anthology of expository prose (pp. 450-461). Peterborough, ON: Broadview.

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of entry or article. Name of reference source (Vol. number, pp. pages). Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Home. (1989). In Oxford English dictionary (Vol. 8, p. 324). New York: Oxford University Press.

Entry from Online Database

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. Retrieved from name of database

Example:

Concrete. In Funk & Wagnall's new world encyclopedia. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database

 

Entry from Website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. Retrieved from complete URL

Example:

Photonics. In The Columbia Encyclopedia. (6th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1E1-photonics.html

 

Entry with DOI Only

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. doi: number

Example:

Guttentag, J. Demand clause. In Mortgage encyclopedia. doi: 10.1036/0071458492

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Connie Song
Contact:
Ph. 513.233.6136