LibGuides: Human Development and Spiritual Experience: Finding Articles

Helpsheets for Searching Databases

General Tips for Searching Databases

Journal Finder

Use the Journal Finder to find whether a journal is owned by Maly Library, and in which formats it is available, including:

Print journals housed in the basement level of the library
Electronic full-text journals available through the library's research databases
Electronic full-text journals available through online subscriptions

If Maly Library does not own the journal you seek, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholarly Articles

Use Google Scholar to search for resources that have been posted to the Internet. Many of these resources are available only through special subscription services.

Research Databases

The following databases are recommended for locating articles on psychology and pastoral counseling.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. An EBSCO database.
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association (Atla), this database provides citations and many full-text articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Updated monthly, it contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing of some journals as far back as the 19th century. This database includes the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) back to 1981; older issues of CPLI are available in print in the library. An EBSCO database.
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides citations and full-text literature of nursing and allied health from 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. An EBSCO database.
EBSCO Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search the Maly Library Catalog, the OhioLINK Catalog, our eBook collection, and our EBSCO research databases with one search box.
OhioLINK databases This link opens in a new window
Many additional online research databases are available through OhioLINK. They can be viewed by subject, by type of database, or alphabetically by name.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes an index, abstracts, and full-text articles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. An EBSCO database.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion and Philosophy Collection provides a collection of articles from over 290 full-text journals covering philosophy, biblical studies, and a broad range of religions. An EBSCO database.

Authentication Help

If you encounter problems accessing databases and e-resources, or have questions about the authentication process, the Remote Authentication Help Page has a series of FAQs that may help.