LibGuides: Catholic Sexual Ethics: Find Articles

Journal Finder

Use the Journal Finder to find whether a journal is owned by Maly Library, and in which formats it is available, including:

Print journals housed in the basement level of the library
Electronic full-text journals available through the library's research databases
Electronic full-text journals available through online subscriptions

If Maly Library does not own the journal you seek, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Database Keywords

Use the following search terms to start or inspire your searches in Maly Library databases.

Christianity

Catholic church

Christian ethics

sexual ethics

Biblical teaching

Bible

ethics in the Bible

human sexuality

sex in the bible

gender and sexuality issues

Humanae Vitae

contraception

birth control

marriage

family

natural family planning

homosexuality

same-sex marriage

moral and ethical aspects

religious aspects

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. An EBSCO database.
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association (Atla), this database provides citations and many full-text articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Updated monthly, it contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing of some journals as far back as the 19th century. This database includes the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) back to 1981; older issues of CPLI are available in print in the library. An EBSCO database.
Atla Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association, this is a completely full-text collection of over 320 major religion, theology, and philosophy journals. Updated monthly, it contains over 615,000 records from 1881 to the present. An EBSCO database.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion and Philosophy Collection provides a collection of articles from over 290 full-text journals covering philosophy, biblical studies, and a broad range of religions. An EBSCO database.
OhioLINK databases This link opens in a new window
Many additional online research databases are available through OhioLINK. They can be viewed by subject, by type of database, or alphabetically by name.

Annual of the Society of Christian Ethics
The predecessor to the Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics. This journal is available in print only.
Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics
This journal offers articles, primarily Christian, but offering Jewish, Islamic, and comparative views as well, of theological, philosophical, historical, professional, and social ethics. This journal is available in print only.
Studies in Christian Ethics
Devoted exclusively to the field of Christian Ethics & Moral Theology. Contributions from moral theologians, philosophers & specialists in related fields representing a wide range of eccesiastical traditions. This journal is available in print, through Athenaeum full-text databases, and through online web subscription.
Journal of Moral Philosophy
Publishes articles in all areas of normative philosophy, including pure & applied ethics, as well as moral, legal, & political theory. This journal is available through Athenaeum full-text databases only.
Theological Studies
Through articles, book reviews, shorter notices and lists of recently published books the journal aims make accessible the riches of the theological tradition, and to present significant developments in current theology. This journal is available in print and through Athenaeum full-text databases.
Christian Bioethics
This interdenominational journal explores the content-full commitments of the Christian faiths with regard to the meaning of human life, sexuality, suffering, illness, & death within the context of medicine & health care. This journal is available through Athenaeum full-text databases only.
National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly
Addresses the ethical, philosophical, and theological questions raised by the rapid pace of modern medical and technological progress. This journal is available in print, through Athenaeum full-text databases, and through online web subscription.
Journal of Marriage and Family
Original theory, research interpretation, and critical discussion of materials related to marriage and the family. This journal is available through Athenaeum full-text databases only.
Sexuality & Culture
Acts as a forum for analysis of ethical, cultural, social, & political issues related to sexual relationships & sexual behavior. This journal is available through Athenaeum full-text databases only.
Journal of the History of Sexuality
Illuminates the history of sexuality in all its expressions, recognizing various differences of class, culture, gender, race, & sexual orientation. This journal is available through Athenaeum full-text databases only.
Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health
Publishes articles on contraceptives, fertility issues, trends, adolescent pregnancy, sexual behavior, sexually transmitted diseases, public policies, and legal issues. This journal is available through Athenaeum full-text databases only.
Origins

Authentication Help

If you encounter problems accessing databases and e-resources, or have questions about the authentication process, the Remote Authentication Help Page has a series of FAQs that may help.