If your question is not answered here, please contact the library. We are happy to answer any questions you may have.
How long can I keep library materials and can I renew them?
Is there a copier or scanner in the library?
Is food or drink allowed in the library?
Can I edit my class paper in the library?
Can I print from and/or use my flash drive on the library computers?
How do I know whether my OhioLINK book arrived yet?
How can I look up a book in the catalog?
How do I format my bibliography?
Where do I pick up materials on reserve for my class?
How do I find my online class page?
Can I check out books if I'm not a student?
How many books can I check out?
I lost/damaged an item. What should I do?
Can I use the rare books in the Special Collection?
Does Maly Library accept donations?
How long can I keep library materials and can I renew them?
Students and Guest patrons have 3 week loan periods and can renew up to 6 times. Faculty have 6 week loan periods and can also renew up to 6 times. You can renew your books online through Your Library Account or call the library at 513-233-6136 during regular hours and ask a staff member to renew them for you.
Top
Is there a copier or scanner in the library?
Yes, there is a public copier on the basement level. There is a cost for copies. There is also a scanner which is free to use.
Top
Is food or drink allowed in the library?
No food or drink is allowed in the library. Covered drinks are permitted.
Top
Can I edit my class paper in the library?
Students are allowed a limited time to edit their papers on our public computers. The bulk of your work must be done on your computer or laptop.
Top
Can I print from and/or use my flash drive on the library computers?
Yes, the public computers have USB ports through which you can access and print your files. There is a a public printer that is free for students (seminarians and laity). Guest patrons may print at 10 cents/page.
Top
How do I know whether my OhioLINK book arrived yet?
You will receive an email notice when your book is available for pick-up at the service desk. You can check the status of your request online through Your Library Account.
Top
How can I look up a book in the catalog?
Basic instructions on using the catalog are found in the Library Handbook or by visiting the Basic Search Methods Guide. If you need assistance, please call or ask at the service desk.
Top
How do I format my bibliography?
Style sheets with explanations and examples of bibliographic entries can be found using the Citation Style Sheets Guide.
Top
Where do I pick up materials on reserve for my class?
All class reserve materials are held at the library service desk.
Top
How do I find my online class page (Populi)?
Go here: https://mtsm.populiweb.com/.
Top
Can I check out books if I'm not a student?
Guests with a legitimate need to use the Maly Library's resources may register for a library card. Legitimate need includes reading or researching in the subject areas that pertain to a school of theology. If you have more general interests, please visit any of the local public libraries nearby. ID (e.g., Driver's License) is required to register for a Maly Library card. Library privileges are also extended to Bishop Fenwick Society members, other Archdiocesan parish members, and students at reciprocal Atla or OhioLINK libraries. Please see a library staff member if you are interested in a guest card.
Top
How many books can I check out?
Guest patrons can borrow up to 10 books at a time. Athenaeum students can borrow up to 40 books at a time. Athenaeum faculty can borrow up to 200 items at a time.
Top
I lost/damaged an item. What should I do?
Borrowers may be charged at least $70.00 plus a processing charge ($20.00) per item for lost or damaged materials. This fee is WAIVED if the patron purchases the exact item for the library. Contact the library to receive detailed information about repurchasing your item.
Top
Do you have wi-fi access?
Yes. Please ask library staff for the password.
Top
Can I use the rare books in the Special Collection?
Yes, with an appointment. Items in our Special Collection cannot be checked out and must be used on the premises under supervision. Contact the library at least 48 hours in advance to make an appointment.
Top