Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the Journal Finder to find whether a journal is owned by Maly Library, and in which formats it is available, including:
- Print journals housed in the basement level of the library
- Electronic full-text journals available through the library's research databases
- Electronic full-text journals available through online subscriptions
If Maly Library does not own the journal you seek, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Please note that if you are off-campus you may have to authenticate with your name and library barcode to use these resources. If you are not a student or faculty member, you may have to travel to the library to use these resources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. An EBSCO database.
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association (Atla), this database provides citations and many full-text articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Updated monthly, it contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing of some journals as far back as the 19th century. This database includes the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) back to 1981; older issues of CPLI are available in print in the library. An EBSCO database.
Atla Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association, this is a completely full-text collection of over 320 major religion, theology, and philosophy journals. Updated monthly, it contains over 615,000 records from 1881 to the present. An EBSCO database.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion and Philosophy Collection provides a collection of articles from over 290 full-text journals covering philosophy, biblical studies, and a broad range of religions. An EBSCO database.
Search for books, articles, and more using OneSearch.
Search using the subjects below to view articles covering these topics or individuals, or use these terms to inspire your own searches.
- Ambrose, Saint, Bishop of Milan, d. 397.
- Apologetics -- History -- Early church, ca. 30-600
- Apostolic Fathers
- Athanasius, Saint, Patriarch of Alexandria, d. 373
- Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo
- Basil, Saint, Bishop of Caesarea, ca. 329-379
- Christian Literature, Early
- Church History -- Primitive and Early Church, ca. 30-600
- Clement I, Pope
- Clement of Alexandria, Saint, ca. 150-ca. 215
- Cyprian, Saint, Bishop of Carthage
- Cyril, Saint, Bishop of Jerusalem, ca. 315-386.
- Eusebius, of Caesarea, Bishop of Caesarea, ca. 260-ca. 340.
- Fathers of the Church
- Gregory I, Pope, ca. 540-604.
- Gregory Of Nazianzus, Saint
- Gregory, of Nyssa, Saint, ca. 335-ca. 394.
- Hippolytus, Antipope, ca. 170-235 or 6.
- Ignatius, Saint, Bishop of Antioch, d. ca. 110
- Irenaeus, Saint, Bishop of Lyon.
- Jerome, Saint, d. 419 or 20.
- John Chrysostom, Saint, d. 407.
- Justin, Martyr, Saint.
- Leo I, Pope, d. 461
- Polycarp, Saint, Bishop of Smyrna
- Tertullian, ca. 160-ca. 230
- Theology, Doctrinal -- History -- Early Church, ca. 30-600
Note: You can use names for author searches to search for primary documents within the databases.