LibGuides: Canon Law: Find Articles&nbsp;

Canon Law Articles

The Jurist
Published since 1941 by the Catholic University of America, School of Canon Law, The Jurist is the only journal published in the United States focused entirely on canon law. Each semi-annual issue publishes 8-12 articles of interest to canonists, church administrators, and seminarians.
Studia Canonica
A scholarly journal published twice a year by the Faculty of Canon Law of St. Paul University in Ottawa, Canada. Publishes articles, jurisprudence, short notices, and book reviews on all aspects of canon law and on occasion publishes articles on ecclesiology and sacramental theology.
Proceedings of the Canon Law Society of America
Contains the major addresses, seminars, and reports, and lists the miscellaneous activities that occurred at the CLSA convention. The library's collection covers 1980 to the present.

Find these journals in the print collection in Maly Library. Some of these journals are also available online.

Acta Apostolicae Sedis
America
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Catholic Lawyer
Canon Law Abstracts
Canon Law Society of America Newsletter
Canon Law Society Proceedings
Chicago Studies
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Civiltà Cattolica
Communicationes
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses
Health Progress
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Heythrop Journal
Homiletic and Pastoral Review
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Jurist
Louvain Studies
New Theology Review
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Notitiae
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Nouvelle Revue Theologique
Sometimes contains articles on Canon Law
Origins
L'Osservatore Romano
Periodica de re canonica
The Pope Speaks
Priest
Review for Religious
Contains columns on canon law relating to religious
Revue Theologique de Louvain
Studia Canonica
Seminarium
Tablet

Canon Law Abstracts Online - Canon Law Society of Great Britain and Ireland
For articles on the revised code, click "Code of Canon Law 1983." You can then browse through the different books, sections, and canons to find articles of interest.
Each article citation is preceded by an abbreviation for the journal in which the article was published. The list of journal abbreviations can be found by clicking the "Periodicals" link on the left side of the screen.
Tip: If you are looking for articles in a specific journal, navigate to the section of law you are researching, and hit "Control + F". Using the "find" function, search for the abbreviation of your journal.
Canon Law Abstracts
Available in print in Maly Library.

Using Canon Law Abstracts
An illustrated guide to locating and interpreting entries in Canon Law Abstracts.

Through Maly Library, faculty and students have access to a wide variety of databases, which can be accessed in the library or remotely. Library staff members are happy to assist you in selecting and using databases for your research.

Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association (Atla), this database provides citations and many full-text articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Updated monthly, it contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing of some journals as far back as the 19th century. This database includes the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) back to 1981; older issues of CPLI are available in print in the library. An EBSCO database.
Atla Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association, this is a completely full-text collection of over 320 major religion, theology, and philosophy journals. Updated monthly, it contains over 615,000 records from 1881 to the present. An EBSCO database.

EBSCO Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search the Maly Library Catalog, the OhioLINK Catalog, our eBook collection, and our EBSCO research databases with one search box.

Journal Finder

Use the Journal Finder to find whether a journal is owned by Maly Library, and in which formats it is available, including:

Print journals housed in the basement level of the library
Electronic full-text journals available through the library's research databases
Electronic full-text journals available through online subscriptions

If Maly Library does not own the journal you seek, request it via Interlibrary Loan.