Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Testament Websites
Atla - Websites on Religion
Carefully selected lists of resources on all aspects of religion, including Bible resources.
Vatican site with searchable biblical text and commentaries.
The Center for the Study of New Testament Manuscripts
View scanned images of biblical papyri, miniscules, and lectionaries from the earliest years of Christianity.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - The Bible
The DOAJ lists thousands of peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals that are freely accessible and searchable on the web. Visit the DOAJ for a listing of subjects. Find the Bible under "Philosophy. Psychology. Religion."
Douay-Rheims Catholic Bible
Searchable online text of the first Catholic Bible in English.
Early Christian Writings
This website offers the full text of early Christian writings from the first, second, and third centuries. The writings are listed in chronological order (as determined by the author of the website) and include the original language when possible.
Compiled allusions to the New Testament in the Ante-Nicene Fathers
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Includes several Bible versions, including the Septuagint, the Tanakh, the Vulgate, the Polyglot King James Version, etc.
New Jerusalem Bible
Searchable online text of the most widely used Roman Catholic Bible outside of the United States.
Religious Studies Web Guide - Biblical Studies
An extensive listing of Biblical Studies resources available online, published by the University of Calgary.
Use this custom Google search to locate articles concerning religious studies published in over 350 open access journals.
Evaluating Internet Information
Questions for evaluating a website:
1. WHO is hosting this information? Who is the intended audience?
2. WHY has this website been created? What is the underlying agenda?
3. WHEN was the site created? When was it last updated?
4. WHAT is the source for the content? Is proper attribution given?
5. WHERE is the site located? Does the geography have an impact on the site and its contents?
Can I Use Google?
Google is a natural starting point for information search, but not always a good path for scholarly research. Here is a good overview of its strengths and weaknesses.
Can I use Wikipedia?
Wikipedia can be used in the beginning stages of research to get an overview of a topic, but should never be cited as an authoritative source in scholarly work. If you use Wikipedia, you must verify the obtained information using other authoritative resources.